Installing 2.2 KAOS FROYO *ROM* V.10 on my DROID ERIS

I am going to install the latest version of Android 2.2 FROYO Operating System on my Rooted Droid Eris from Verizon . You can download the latest “ROM” 2.2 KAOS FROYO V.10 from my own upload here or a backup link here . Ok let’s get on with the basics , but first ” I take no responsibility if this bricks your phone , perform at your own risk , & this will only work on a ROOTED phone “.

1. Connect your phone to your pc ( usb / bluetooth / wifi ) and copy the file kaosfroyo-10v.zip to the Root Folder of your SD card . Disconnect your phone from your pc & power it down .

2. Now Turn on your phone by holding the “Power” key & “Volume Up” key at the same time .
3. From the RA Eris Recovery Menu first perform a NAND Backup , then reboot and power up the same way as before .
4. Now select “Flash .zip from SD Card” from the menu
5. You should now see a list of all the “ROMS” that you can flash onto your phone . You should select the “KAOSFROYO-V10.ZIP” file . Confirm you want to continue and sit back .
6. It will go through the typical process of flashing your phone & when it’s done it will notify you that the flash was successful & to reboot the phone .
7. It can take 10 minutes or more the first time you boot up the phone , so be patient .
To be continued in the morning ….
Well I gave up waiting for it to reboot , pulled the battery , and booted from scratch . It took about 10 minutes and I was presented with an all new bootloader & startup screen . I skipped through the initial setup and logged in with my GOOGLE account . I was greeted with a new launcher bar at the bottom of the screen . I tested out the stock web browser and found it to be much faster . I cant seem to find or install any of the Verizon specific apps , or tv.com , or skype . I’m writing this part of the blog from my Eris . The vanilla keyboard takes some getting used to , as is the abscense of any sense ui software . There are still some things that need to be worked out but I’m stoked !
Published with Blogger-droid v1.3.6
Leave a Reply

